Frostgrave Random Encounters – Frost Giant

With my usual sense of thrift the next miniature off the Random Encounters list is this Reaper Bones Ogre Chieftain, who has been promoted to Frost Giant.

Traditionally Frost Giants always seem to be giant Vikings painted up with blue or grey skin.

I’ve never been fond of blue skinned humanoids in fantasy games – the way people painted bright blue AD&D Drow in the 80s and 90s put me off for life. In my opinion the only blue skinned humanoids should be demons or Aliens. Or Smurfs.

I don’t object to grey skin tones in the same way as I do with blue and I plan to use grey for the trolls. With that in mind I went for a ‘real’ skin tone with the giant.

image

The moulding detail on this is the best I’ve experienced with a Reaper Bones miniature. As a sculpt it’s got just about every texture except feathers and chainmail – skin, metal, fur, wood, hair, cloth etc and all of them were crisp enough without any areas of flat detail that often occurs with smaller Bones miniatures. Clearly the material lends itself better to larger sculpts.

image

Pictured with 'Mr. Demented' for a sense of scale

2 thoughts on “Frostgrave Random Encounters – Frost Giant

  1. Azazel

    He’s come up very nicely, the flesh tones look great. I’ve got him myself in my box’o’ogres to paint up one day. I just hope mine manages to turn out as nicely as yours has!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

