Frostgrave Random Encounters – White Gorilla

Finding a suitable miniature to represent this has been a little problematic. To start with there aren’t a great deal of Gorilla miniatures out there. The vast majority of these are either bearing firearms or wearing armour for Sci Fi games.

Wargames Foundry have a ‘Lord of the Jungle’ set that includes one with Tarzan, Jane and Belgian Colonial Officer miniatures. The downside is that it isn’t cheap – I’d have no use for the other miniatures in the set so it would have worked out at £16 (sharp intake of breath) for a single Gorilla. No chance.

Digging a bit deeper lead me to a Malifaux miniature that would do the trick. I have no idea what Malifaux is from a gaming point of view but the official miniatures seem to be a weird mix of Steampunk, Fantasy, Martial Arts and Demonic types – it has some really interesting miniatures amongst it’s range.

The miniature is called Cojo and normally retails at £15 but I managed to pick a discounted one up for under a tenner – still expensive in my mind but cheaper than the Foundry Gorilla.

On opening the box the Cojo figure is a large (actually it’s massive!) gorilla type creature with spiny growths protruding from it’s forearms and back and a ring piercing the skin on it’s sternum. It’s so big it needs a 50mm standard round base to stand on – the 40 and 50mm lipped bases supplied with it are too small for it to stand on properly. I decided to keep the spines but cut away the ring piercing so it seemed more of a wild animal than a creature willing and able to accept body modifications.

Wanting to get some quick ideas for painting, a Google image search brought me instantly to Snowflake, the only known Albino Gorilla.

image

You can't get better than a Kwik Fit fitter...

I was surprised at this as I assumed there were several Albino Gorillas around the world’s zoos. Snowflake died in captivity in 2003 but not before the world’s press had photographed him extensively. Snowflake’s intrusions from the Paparazzi might have irked or confused him but at least it gave me some reference material to paint Cojo.

image

image

I tried something a little different with the base. Instead of just my usual mix of gritty sands I added a bit of a broken brick flooring effect from pieces cut from a foam sheet. I think it could be quite easy to cover entire bases with larger paving stones in this fashion.

7 thoughts on “Frostgrave Random Encounters – White Gorilla

    1. Somet Post author

      Thanks, although I reckon a white gorilla is an odd choice of animal to put on a random encounter chart for a game like Frostgrave!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Azazel

    Your Cojo is looking great there. I guess the white is for.. the snow? Aside from the fact that it doesn’t seem a normal kind of gorilla environment. Shades of old-school D&D’s randomness of monsters, I guess?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Somet Post author

      Thanks. I agree, I reckon it’s something along the lines of “white must mean snow” too. Very odd, very old school D&D monster randomness!

      I considered re-doing it as a ‘Yeti’ or ‘abominable snowman’, which would have made slightly more sense, but in the end I decided to stick to the list in the ruleset.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Somet Post author

      That certainly looks weird enough! I’ve never seen that in my search for a suitable ‘Ice Toad’, how did I manage to avoid spotting it?

      I toyed with the idea of some cheap plastic kids toy frogs/toads painted up (you can buy packs of them direct from Chinese sellers on eBay for a couple of quid post free) but in the end went for two of these –

      http://m.ebay.com/itm/161863857319

      They look suitably toady and fairly realistic I reckon.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Azazel

        That’s a sweet model you’ve chosen there. I’m looking forward to seeing it finished. I might have to finally pick up Frostgrave in a week or two now that I see Warlord are stocking it. (Buying from them is easy and painless).

        Like

Leave a Reply

