PCs for 5th Ed D&D

Since returning to gaming and painting I’ve been fortunate enough to have played RPGs on pretty much a weekly basis. I’m currently DMing 5th Ed D&D ‘Storm King’s Thunder’ so I painted up some miniatures to represent the PCs where our larger combats use a battlemat.

Elf Rogue

This is a Ral Partha miniature available from RPE as part of their Dark Eye range. The PC was originally created as male but then the player changed the gender at the start of the first play session. There’s a fair few female Elf miniatures of course but a lot of them tend to be either Magic Users or Rangers; this seemed the best Ranger type to represent a female Rogue – Elves aways have bows no matter what.

Dwarf Fighter

There was some discussion about gender at character generation for this one too. The player originally settled on female so I got a Ral Partha Dwarf miniature to represent her.

By the next session they had changed her to a male Dwarf so I needed a new miniature! Rather than have the female Dwarf languish in my lead pile she got painted up along with the Citadel ‘Dwarf Lords of Legend’ Uther I decided to use.

Tiefling Warlock 

There aren’t a lot of Tiefling miniatures out there to represent this PC. I toyed with alternatives for this including various Demon miniatures and Games Workshop Ungors.

In the end I settled for this Reaper Bones Hellborn miniature. I would have preferred it in metal but I couldn’t find one in the UK.

Dwarf Cleric

No one wanted to play a Cleric as their main PC despite the serious makeover they’ve had in 5th Ed. Their obvious strength is still ‘Team Medic’ though so the players rolled up one to accompany them. He also serves as a PC for any occasional guest players we get. This is a Heartbreaker Miniatures Dwarf sculpted by Kevin Adams – proving he’s not just the one dimensional Goblin creation machine we sometimes think he is!

Half Elf Warlock 

You’ll need to stretch your imagination a bit with this one. The player is keen on casting ‘mage armour’ on his PC so wanted a miniature with suitably impressive looking armour – even if this magic only gives him the equivalent AC of leather armour!

This is a Heartbreaker Miniatures Elf Warrior figure sculpted by Chaz Elliott. It reminds me of the Citadel Stormbringer miniatures by Jes Goodwin.There’s a definite Elric vibe to him but then Charles did have a history with this sort of thing.

A (slightly blurry – sorry!) group shot. Of course I also felt the need to use hex bases as a homage to the 1980s Citadel AD&D range.

4 thoughts on “PCs for 5th Ed D&D

  1. Ann

    Back when I played a lot of D&D I would have loved it if the DM and some of the other players, perhaps, painted up figures for each of the PC’s.

    Oddly, I’m one of those people who likes playing clerics.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Ann

        Seems like a fun and useful outlet for painting. I’m sure most players enjoy seeing a physical representation of their characters — especially once they play them for awhile and get attached to them.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Azazel

    Nice work, and good to see more minis posted up. 🙂
    I know the feeling of being the group’s miniature and hobby item supplier, so I can empathise. Oddly enough, my character in our (rarely played) Pathfinder campaign is a dwarvern cleric. I should probably finish painting the figure I picked out for him sometime as well!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

