Reaper Bones Ettin

I must have first read fluff about Ettins back in the 80s (either in a friends copy of the 1st Ed AD&D Monster Manual or Dragon Magazine) but I don’t remember seeing an Ettin miniature, or at least a semi decent version of one, until the early 90s.

Back then the one that caught my eye was from the Ral Partha official AD&D range. There were a lot of great minis in that series and it sported various classic AD&D adversaries including several splendid looking Giants.

I have one of the Fire Giants from this range tucked away somewhere still to paint and have already put the Firbolg on the blog however the Ettin from Ral Partha was slightly disappointing. it was a bit too barrel chested with spindly, overly long arms and legs for my preferences.

I’ve seen a few of these for sale on eBay but as I’ve never been too convinced by the sculpt I haven’t ever bid on one.

Reaper released their version of the Ettin a few years ago in their Bones range. I thought it was much better proportioned than the old Ral Partha miniature so I picked one up.

As with a lot of Bones minis it was slightly too bent over so I had to do the boiling water/iced water trick to straighten it up a bit. It’s since bent back a bit towards the original pose but nothing to worry about, and since it’s now secure to a 50mm base it won’t keep falling over at least!

Some of the detailing is a bit poor as sometimes happens with Bones plastic. In this case the barrel on its back, the fish and some of the skulls hanging from the waist are a bit ‘blobby’, but not enough to detract from the mini overall.

I’m sure it’ll provide a useful distraction to my D&D players at some point!

4 thoughts on “Reaper Bones Ettin

  1. daggerandbrush

    I like him, too. The skin turned out great and the gum also looks just the part. I have the same model, but decided to change the heads and may also change the skulls and re-sculpt the fish. as you say these details are a bit blobby.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hobgoblin Orange Post author

    Thanks. Changing the heads (which I didn’t mention I’m not that keen on) plus the skulls and fish would be great – bones plastic is so easy to cut and adapt so it makes perfect sense.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

